At a glance
- STI testing Offered, cost not stated
- HIV PrEP Free
- Birth control Free
- Emergency contraception Free
- Find a clinic
- Not confirmed Home testing, Condoms
STI testing
Offered, cost not stated
STI/STBBI testing and treatment through SHORS (1-844-365-8258); PEI Health Card required.
Who qualifies: Valid PEI Health Card
Source: Government of Prince Edward Island · government · checked Oct 27, 2026
HIV PrEP
Free
HIV Drug Program covers all costs of approved PrEP; prescriber registers you with the Chief Public Health Office; pick up at Provincial Pharmacy.
Who qualifies: PEI resident, valid Health Card, HIV-negative, at risk
Source: Government of Prince Edward Island · government · checked Oct 27, 2026
Birth control
Free
National Pharmacare Program since May 1, 2025: listed contraceptives (pills, IUDs, implant, injection, ring) at zero cost; brand-name choice pays the difference.
Who qualifies: PEI residents with a valid PEI Health Card; automatic
Source: Government of Prince Edward Island · government · checked Oct 27, 2026
Emergency contraception
Free
Generic levonorgestrel at zero cost under the National Pharmacare Program (brand Plan B may cost).
Who qualifies: Valid PEI Health Card
Source: Government of Prince Edward Island · government · checked Oct 27, 2026
Find a clinic
No map finder; SHORS books all sexual health services at 1-844-365-8258.
Source: Government of Prince Edward Island · government · checked Oct 27, 2026
Not confirmed by an official source
Not confirmed
We couldn't confirm online or home STI testing or condom programs from an official Prince Edward Island source. That does not mean these are unavailable.
Next step: SHORS books all sexual health services at 1-844-365-8258. Source: Government of Prince Edward Island
Checked Oct 27, 2026.
Across Canada
National pharmacare for birth control
4 jurisdictions
Four jurisdictions (Manitoba, British Columbia, PEI, Yukon) have pharmacare agreements for universal, first-dollar coverage of contraception and diabetes medications.
Who qualifies: Residents of those 4
Source: Health Canada question period note · federal government (Health Canada QP note, 2026) · checked Oct 27, 2026
HIV self-test by mail
Free by mail (study)
I'm Ready (St. Michael's Hospital research program) care pathways cover AB, BC, MB, NB, NL, NS, ON, PE, QC, SK, YT (not NT or NU).
Who qualifies: Residents of listed provinces
Source: I'm Ready, St. Michael's Hospital research program · research program (not government) · checked Oct 27, 2026
Compare and read more
Other province and territory guides: British Columbia · Alberta · Manitoba · Ontario · Quebec · New Brunswick · Nova Scotia · Yukon · Northwest Territories.
Sources
- Government of Prince Edward Island: STI testing · government
- Government of Prince Edward Island: HIV PrEP · government
- Government of Prince Edward Island: birth control and emergency contraception · government
- Government of Prince Edward Island: finding a clinic · government
- Health Canada question period note: national pharmacare · federal government (Health Canada QP note, 2026)
- I'm Ready, St. Michael's Hospital research program: HIV self-test by mail · research program (not government)
Facts checked Oct 27, 2026. General information, not medical advice. Programs change; check with your local public health unit or clinic. Found an error? Email support@adult.ca and we will log the fix on Updates.
