At a glance
- STI testing Offered, cost not stated
- HIV PrEP Offered, cost not stated
- Birth control Free for some
- Emergency contraception Free at some sites
- Condoms Free (some sites)
- Find a clinic
- Not confirmed Home testing
STI testing
Offered, cost not stated
Testing via Horizon/Vitalité sexual health services, family doctors, NPs; call Tele-Care 811 for a location.
Source: Government of New Brunswick · government · checked Oct 27, 2026
HIV PrEP
Offered, cost not stated
PrEP therapy offered at Saint John Sexual Health Centre.
Who qualifies: People at high risk of HIV
Source: Horizon Health Network · health authority · checked Oct 27, 2026
Birth control
Free for some
19 and under who cannot afford birth control: call 811 about free birth control. Pharmacists are publicly funded to assess contraception management, ages 12-50 (drug cost not stated).
Who qualifies: 19 and under (free supply); 12-50 (pharmacist assessment)
Sources: Horizon Health Network · health authority; Government of New Brunswick · government, for pharmacists, ages 12–50 · checked Oct 27, 2026
Emergency contraception
Free at some sites
Morning-after pill may be given free at many high school sexual health clinics and community health centres; also sold at pharmacies.
Source: Horizon Health Network · health authority · checked Oct 27, 2026
Condoms
Free (some sites)
Free condoms at Saint John Sexual Health Centre.
Who qualifies: Clinic visitors
Source: Horizon Health Network · health authority · checked Oct 27, 2026
Find a clinic
Horizon sexual health page lists clinics by city; or call 811.
Source: Horizon Health Network · health authority · checked Oct 27, 2026
Not confirmed by an official source
Not confirmed
We couldn't confirm online or home STI testing from an official New Brunswick source. That does not mean these are unavailable.
Next step: Call Tele-Care 811 to find a location. Source: Government of New Brunswick
Checked Oct 27, 2026.
Across Canada
HIV self-test by mail
Free by mail (study)
I'm Ready (St. Michael's Hospital research program) care pathways cover AB, BC, MB, NB, NL, NS, ON, PE, QC, SK, YT (not NT or NU).
Who qualifies: Residents of listed provinces
Source: I'm Ready, St. Michael's Hospital research program · research program (not government) · checked Oct 27, 2026
Compare and read more
Other province and territory guides: British Columbia · Alberta · Manitoba · Ontario · Quebec · Nova Scotia · Prince Edward Island · Yukon · Northwest Territories.
Sources
- Government of New Brunswick: STI testing · government
- Horizon Health Network: HIV PrEP and condoms · health authority
- Horizon Health Network: birth control, emergency contraception and finding a clinic · health authority
- Government of New Brunswick: birth control (pharmacists, ages 12–50) · government
- I'm Ready, St. Michael's Hospital research program: HIV self-test by mail · research program (not government)
Facts checked Oct 27, 2026. General information, not medical advice. Programs change; check with your local public health unit or clinic. Found an error? Email support@adult.ca and we will log the fix on Updates.
